Fashion Friday- Why buy When you Can Rent

For me it is not officially summer until the celebration of my birthday and the 4th of July. This past weekend I celebrated the big 2-5 and of course that meant having to do things in style. About a year ago a friend ( and fellow blogger) Jaime told me about a website called Rent the Runway. Which allows you to rent designer dresses for an insanely discounted price. The concept sounded awesome, but of course I was a little hesitant. The idea of runway made me think runway sizes, and really, no one has time for that. But for this occasion I figured I’d throw caution to the wind and give it a try. I must say I have never been happier with a dress purchase.

The selection of dresses are amazing and range from rental prices of $40 to $400 depending on the dress. Along with this you pay five dollars a dress for rental insurance which covers small damages and dry cleaning. After searching through tons of dresses I picked out two amazing dresses. The price was a little more than I think I normally would have spent on two dresses (130 for both), Sadly a few days before my rentals were coming a women named Serena from the company called to tell me that one of my dresses was damaged beyond repair and has been discontinued. Yet, before a Blair Waldorf inspired freak out could erupt, she informed me that I could pick any other dress on the site, no matter the price, to have in its place!.

Long story short, the dresses fit perfectly and I can’t even count the number of compliments I got on both dresses.

           

It was great getting to wear a dress that normally I never would have been able to afford and getting to celebrate my birthday with some of my favorite people.  Rent the Runway has officially been bumped up to one of my favorite fashion retailers and I cannot wait to rent from them again.

-Cassi

Leave a Reply

