WordNerd Summer Challenge

After three (very) long years, my master program has finally come to an end and I will be walking across the stage on Friday! Here comes long days of job hunting, writing cover letters and trying to start up my real life. Of course I do plan to spend these new found free time to do the things I love and to start enjoying hobbies I never had the time for.
My favorite part of the summer warmer months, is finally getting to sit outside and enjoy a good book..or five. When I was in high school I used to make a list of books I wanted to read by the time school started up again in the fall. This year, I have decided to bring back this mission. Reading has always been my all time favorite pass time. I love being transported in to different worlds just by picking up a new book. I do not think this is a feeling that will ever change. I am so excited to start this little “WordNerd” Challenge and to share my picks with you all.
So what is on my list this year-


1) As the Mountain Echo – Khaled Hosseini

Kahled Hosseini has written two of my favorite books and I have been waiting for years for him to have another novel come out. Thankfully as of May 21st that wait is over and this book will be laying at my door step for me.
2) The Giver Series – Lois Lowry (4 books)

When I first read The Giver back in middle school I was so upset by the ending. I wanted more and sadly I got nothing. I was SO excited when a friend told me that she has discovered that there were more books in this series. Of course this means I bought them all and I am ready to find out what else happens in this world.
3) The Great Gatsby -F. Scott Fitzgerald

I have already read Gatsby. Way back in 12th grade this was required reading in my US history course. Due to the fact that I had to read, analysis and spend months talking and understanding Gatsby, I hated it. Now that I am older, wiser, and refuse to see Dicaprio’s sexy face play Jay Gatsby without reading the book, It is time to give this book a second chance.
4) Stardust- Neil Gainman

In August I am going to see Neil Gainman speak at the Museum of Fine Arts. I have read a few of his stories and I wanted to add another to the list before going to see him speak.
5) Fear and Loathing In Las Vegas -Hunter S Thomson
Because the fact that I haven’t read this already makes me just a really sad Cassi
6) A Game of Thrones – George R.R Martin

This is mostly because everyone has been telling me I HAVE to read these books. So I figured I’d give them a shot.
7) Pretty Little Dirty – Amanda Boyden
This was recommend to me through Goodreads.com. Let’s see how well they really know me
8) A Clockwork Orange – Anthony Burgess
Another book I’m really not sure why I haven’t read yet. I am failing here.

Leave a Reply

