Work Out Wednesday: Run-Away!

If you had told me in high school that I would enjoy running. I would have laughed my ass off. The thought of running used to send me into hysterics. I was so self-conscious about my body and about what other people who think if they saw the “fat girl” trying to run.

Yet here I am in 2013 planning a list of 5K races that I actually cannot WAIT to run. So what changed? Most of this has to do with the “give no shits” attitude I have adopted when it comes to fitness. But the real thing that has made running something I look forward to is how fun themed 5k’s can be. For anyone who knows me I am a sucker for a good theme party. If you tell me that I can get dressed up and hang out with my friends I am always down for that. Last July my friend Hope signed up for the Color Me Rad 5k race and found out she had a conflict with the date afterwards. She asked me if I would like to take her place. I was nervous since I had never run more than half a mile at a time but I figured what the hell. I must say that race was the most fun I have ever had in my life.  It did not matter how fast you were going or what “place” you finished at. All that mattered was being with your friends and being splashed with multi-colored corn starch until you looked like a Crayola books exploded on you.

 After that race I was determined to find as many fun 5k’s to do with my friends the following season. I find these races as the perfect length. Because really anything longer and I feel like I would get bored out of my mind. But that may just be me. Themed 5k’s are a great way to get in a workout without ever feeling LIKE you are working out. With these races you are having fun, enjoying the weather and most of all enjoying being you.

The list is currently still growing since not all races are listed at the moment since the season has not really started.  

 

2013 Race Season

April:

Totally Awesome 80’s Run: Manchester NH

http://gooddayforarun.com/totally-awesome-80s-run-2013-dates/

Jaime and I already have our plan for this one. 80’s Work out Barbie here we come!!!!!

 

July:

Color Me Rad 5K:

http://www.colormerad.com/races/boston.html

 

August:

Great Urban Race: Boston MA

http://greaturbanrace.com/info.php

 

I am still looking for a race for May, June, and September. I am hoping to get to do at least one race a month starting in May.

 

Anyone else a themed 5k Junkie? Share them here!

 

XoXo

Leave a Reply

