Workout Wednesday: Back to the Beginning

To kick of my workout Wednesday series I figured I would give you all a little background. Over the last four-ish years fitness has become a HUGE part of my life. For most of middle school through my first half of college I was very overweight for my height. I ate like shit, drank like a fish in college and just did not take care of myself. I used to fluctuate between periods of not eating at all to eating everything in sight and doing whatever I could to get rid of it afterwards. I was always unhappy and could barely look at myself without wanting to cry. And then one day I took a good look at myself and realized I could not do this anymore.
By this point I started getting myself to the school gym, even if it was just once a week. I started really thinking about what food I was and wasn’t putting into my body. I moved off campus for a small amount of time, which made me have to make my meals rather than relay on the school. Around the same time I also got a job working the front desk at Gold’s Gym in New Hampshire. I think my time at Gold’s is what really got me on a fitness kick. I met some AMAZING people who helped me learn how to create proper and affective work out. My friends Ryan and Kelli taught me how awesome weight lifting is. Ever since then I have been trying to do weights and cardio at least 4 times a week.
I have lost about 55 pounds since 2008. Which to some doesn’t sound like a lot. But the best part is I have learned how to maintain my weight rather than gain ANYTHING back when I have off weeks.

December 2007:

June 2012:

picture

I have about 20 more pounds to lose before I am able to feel more comfortable in my own body.
Since then I have started to gain a passion for all different types of work outs. I have also been working on finding out how to incorporate fitness into my future career. :).

Lately I have been starting to look into different types of workouts and classes to add into my life. As much as I love lifting and running, I think it is time to find something new and exciting for this year. So that is what this is for. Letting all my lovely readers know what is going on in my fitness journey. I look forward to sharing the rest of this journey with you all!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

